Pumpkins and Oktoberfest Beers: Harpoon Pumpkin Cider

August 28, 2012 at 12:52 AM (Uncategorized) (, , )

It’s the most magical time of year, friends: autumnal beer season! We all know I’ll try [almost] any beer once, but the brews of September through November are the ones I’ll try again and again… and again. This year I figured I’d catalog the deliciousness for both your and my enjoyment. With a new idea, we’ll start with a new beer… Harpoon Pumpkin Cider. Read on!

Image, beerBeer: Pumpkin Cider
Brewery:
Harpoon Brewery
Style: Spiced Cider
ABV: 4.8%
Where I Had It: Sunset Grill & Tap
What I Thought of It: A perfect transition beer for summer to autumn.You can certainly taste pumpkin, but it doesn’t overwhelm the crispness of a harvest cider. I admit, I was skeptical at first: while I love both pumpkin and apple pies, the thought of the two together just didn’t seem like a good idea. However, I was lucky enough to find myself at Sunset the day Harpoon sent their monthly newsletter announcing its inaugural release. Naturally I had to give it a try. I’m glad I did!

1 Comment

  1. Ed Alvarez said,

    My rep from S.K.I. Beer left me a bottle to try in the hops that I would place it. Let me tell you, I liked it. I normally don’t give a shit for pumpkin beer or any seasonals I think there just flash in the pan. All bang no substance, but this Pumpkin cider was fun, it felt like I was drinking thanksgiving. I have Red Hook Pumpkin Porter on tap and know with Harpoon Pumpkin cider, do I hear Pumpkin snakebite? If you are in NYC UES come give it a try at Go Burger!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,584 other followers

