A Little Appreciation Is Greatly Appreciated

September 29, 2008 at 9:06 PM (Happenings, Musings) ()

I’ve been a regular at the chain coffee shop across the street from my apartment for four years.  I began working at one of its locations almost a year and a half ago, but of course I visit the shop across the street just as faithfully as I did four years ago – perhaps even more so, now that I frequently get the “insider discount” (read: “free”) deal on drinks.

A couple weeks ago, one of the supervisors stopped me and asked if I could work at all this past week.  After discussing some logistics, she later called me and asked if I could work for the majority of Monday and Thursday mornings.  My stomach turned a couple cartwheels as I agreed to work at 8.00 A.M. on Monday and 7.00 A.M. on Thursday.

On Tuesday night, I didn’t sleep.  At all.  I had a paper due at 9.00 A.M. the next day, and I refused to fall behind with my classwork.  I was busy all day Wednesday, and was practising at the studio until around 11.00 P.M.  For whatever reason, I didn’t get to bed until around 2.00 A.M.  Bearing all that in mind, it should be easy to figure out why I REALLY dreaded working at 7.00 Thursday morning.

It was all worth it, though.  I really am easy to please.  I was pulling shots left and right in an effort to whittle down the mile-long line of drinks during a mid-morning rush when the store manager walked over to the bar, stood behind me, and enveloped me in a bear hug.

“You are amazing.  Thank you so much for coming in; I really appreciate it.”  As he broke away and continued about his business, he added, “That was probably really awkward for you, but I’m sorry, I had to do it.”

Mind you, this guy has only been at the shop for maybe three months or so, I don’t know him as well as most of the other employees, and I’ve only actually worked at that store two or three times.  In short, if I was a little more Type A about personal space and all that sort, yes, the scenario could have been quite awkward, indeed.

Luckily, I’m quite a cuddly person, and am usually pro-hugging.  For whatever reason, after the unexpected display of gratitude, my mood went through the roof.  Suddenly it didn’t matter that I was running on not nearly enough sleep, or that the customers were getting really prissy about making sure that their super high-maintenance beverages were as carefully crafted as they were.  The fact that someone had gone out of his way to make it clear that he appreciated my taking time out of my schedule to help him and his store out meant a lot.  It doesn’t take much to let someone know that (s)he’s appreciated, yet too frequently, we take others for granted.  Too often I need to convince myself that going out of my way for people is worth the effort when they don’t even remember to say “Thank you.”  That said, I know I’m not without fault, and that I take people for granted more often than I should (which is never, by the way).

To my temporary store manager, thanks for reminding me that we can always do with more thank yous.

1 Comment

  1. writemeg said,

    We can all definitely do with more ‘thank yous’! It’s so refreshing and awesome to feel appreciated. It sounds like you’re a really hard worker and you deserved that hug! 🙂 Thanks for reminding ME about thank yous, too!

Leave a Reply

