My New Favourite Rumba

November 7, 2008 at 2:05 AM (Dance, Musings, Personal Reference) (, , )

Dancing’s always fun, but it’s even more fun when it’s to a song that really suits the character of the dance.  Rumba has been described by former World Rhythm Champion and Dancing with the Stars cast member Tony Dovolani as “the bedroom dance.”  I personally think a good Rumba can make an audience member feel just a little bit scandalous by watching.

iTunes is currently featuring a one-week promotion: purchase Maroon 5’s debut album, Songs About Jane, for $4.99 (http://itunes.apple.com/WebObjects/MZStore.woa/wa/viewAlbum?id=252382416&s=143441).  Nevermind the fact that $5.00 for twelve songs on iTunes is nothing to sneeze at, but it’s for Maroon 5 songs.  This album had so many hits that I’d forgotten about.  Justifying the purchase was pretty easy.  As I made my way through the CD, I eventually reached “Secret,” which I just so happen to be enjoying right now.  Talk about sensual.  I realised that one of the dance halls I used to frequent played this song on occasion, and that my friends and I almost always commented on what a good song it was and that we should probably look into finding out what it was called.  I’m happy to know that I finally have it: I think I’ve listened to it six times in a row already.  I definitely want to keep it in mind for a future showcase . . .

Lyrics: “Secret,” Maroon 5

Watch the sunrise,
Say your goodbyes –
Off we go
Some conversation,
No contemplation –
Hit the road

Car overheats,
Jump out of my seat
On the side of the highway baby
Our road is long,
Your hold is strong . . .
Please don’t ever let go,
Oh No

I know I don’t know you,
But I want you so bad
Everyone has a secret,
But can they keep it?
Oh No they can’t

I’m driving fast now;
Don’t think I know how to go slow
Oh, where you at now?
I feel around –
There you are

Cool these engines,
Calm these jets
I ask you how hot can it get,
And as you wipe off beads of sweat,
Slowly you say, “I’m not there yet!”

I know I don’t know you,
But I want you so bad
Everyone has a secret,
But can they keep it?
Oh No they can’t

I know I don’t know you,
But I want you so bad
Everyone has a secret,
But can they keep it?
Oh No they can’t

Here’s the track list:

Track List: Songs About Jane, Maroon 5
01.) Harder to Breathe – 2:54  
02.) This Love – 3:26  
03.) Shiver – 3:00  
04.) She Will Be Loved – 4:17
05.) Tangled – 3:18  
06.) The Sun – 4:12 
07.) Must Get Out – 3:59
08.) Sunday Morning – 4:05  
09.) Secret – 4:55
10.) Through With You – 3:02  
11.) Not Coming Home – 4:21  
12.) Sweetest Goodbye – 4:31

Definitely worth the $5.00.  Go buy it!

Leave a Reply

