Smarter Than Your Average Bear

December 16, 2008 at 6:33 PM (Happenings, Musings) (, )

For whatever it’s worth, I truly believe that one learns something new daily.  In an effort to get myself writing more regularly, I’m going to try to record at least that, if not something more interesting, daily.

Back to our irregularly scheduled blogging!

This morning I had my first of two final exams.  I spent a good three weeks stressing myself out over it, at least an hour last night tossing and turning, and a few hours as the victim of academic nightmares.  Granted, I’m all set to graduate whenever I want this year, so none of my courses are crucial for me to graduate, but Mom trained me well to obesess over anything that will be evaluated.  I was particularly worried about this exam since I didn’t even finish my midterm.  Mind you, the last time I could not finish a test in the allotted time was for Honours Chemistry in high school, so it’s been a while.  I was so horrified at the time that when I received the graded midterm in a manila folder two weeks later, I couldn’t couldn’t bear to look at it.  Instead, I left it under a pile of papers on my desk, hoping never to see it again.

Last night admist my dread, I found my friends at Balera to be encouraging and reassuring.  None of them seemed too concerned , which, while I appreciated their confidence, led me to think that they just couldn’t fathom how difficult and in-depth the course was.  I’m a smart lass, but I go to a smart kids school where I am a small fish in a very, very large sea of mostly other smart fish.

I did my best to keep my wits about me as I went into my exam this morning, and to my amazement, I found myself  answering most of the essays pretty thoroughly (I thought, at least).  I was even more amazed to find myself finishing the exam five minutes before time.  As I walked home, I marveled at my own knowledge of the material, and when I arrived back at my apartment, I took a deep breath as I dug out my midterm from two months ago, and gasped as I found the grade half-way down the front page: 81.  On an exam that I didn’t even complete.  Golly, maybe I  really am as smart as my friends claim I am . . .

Today’s Tunes
“I’m Yours,” Jason Mraz
“Lost Without U,” Robin Thicke
“Already Home (Spanish Version),” Ha-Ash
“Breakfast at Tiffany’s,” Deep Blue Something
“Back 2 Good,” Matchbox Twenty
“Corazon No Llores,” Marc Anthony y Olga Tanon
“Low,” Coldplay

Leave a Reply

