Social by Habit

December 18, 2008 at 9:51 PM (Musings) (, )

Today was the first day I spent alone in the apartment in a while: my last roommate left for Christmas at 3.00 A.M. today.  Although I’m thrilled to have total control of the thermostat (woohoo, 75-degree heat wave!!) and the sound system, I’ve gotten used to living with other people, and I’m not coping too well with the switch-up.

That’s not to say that I can’t live alone: I did it for two summers, and it was great.  There’s a certain pleasure I derive from doing things my way (cleaning, arranging, and so on and so forth), and it’s nice not having to worry about someone else’s alarm clock waking me up.  Admittedly, I also enjoy taking some vocal liberties when I know that no one I know can hear me.  However, that was situation for the entire summer.   I’m finding that I don’t do as well under more temporary circumstances.

Over the past four months, I’ve grown accustomed to chatting with the little wanderer, dining with my damn roommate, and hearing about my accident-prone roommate’s latest run-in with gravity or sharp pointy objects.  The latter has just moved out permanently, since she graduated early, and decided to move back home for a few months.  The other two are only gone until next semester, but I’m still here for a few more days.

Alone.

This stinks.

The last time I was alone in the apartment for more than a day was when I got back from my Thanksgiving break.  My grandfather was skipping in and out of the ICU at the time, so perhaps you can imagine how thrilled I was to be away from him, my roommates and most of my friends, since they were all still out of town.  Great times, right?

I’ve had almost no human interaction today, even at my favourite coffee shop across the street.  I haven’t gotten anything done today, which needs to change, since I still have one more exam to go (Gregorian chants, bring it on.).  Luckily, Balera’s but a train ride away.  I don’t do well in libraries, but I can get some serious reading done in a dance studio.  Go figure.

Today’s Tunes 
“Black Mercedes,” One Block Radius
“Mercy,” Duffy
“Run for Your Life,” The Beatles
“Stuck on You,” Elvis Presley
“Electric Worm,” Beastie Boys
“Right Now (Na Na Na),” Akon
“You Are the Sunshine of My Life,” Stevie Wonder
“Runaround Sue,” Dion
“So What,” Miles Davis

Leave a Reply

