NYC Field Trip

January 12, 2009 at 4:58 AM (Friends, Happenings) (, , )

You may recall that I was scheduled for an NYC excursion to celebrate a friend’s birthday.  You may also recall that I had counted on learning a few things during my adventure.  Or you may have no idea what I’m talking about, and that’s okay, too.  Regardless, my original plan was to head into New York with my friend, meet up with some more friends, gallivant about Manhattan in a most inebriated fashion (I failed to mention that my friend was celebrating a 21st birthday), curl up in a hotel by the wee hours of the morning, then catch a train back to my parents’ house.

Curse you, Mother Nature.  Curse you.

Due to an abominable weather forecast that dominated the entire weekend, it looked like my safest, snow-free trip back to Boston would have to take place the following morning.  Early the following morning.  My new itinerary included taking a train back to my parents’ house to finish packing before dawn, and hitting the road back to Boston by 7.00 A.M.  Sleep didn’t seem to factor into this new equation.  However, I didn’t trouble myself with such wearisome thoughts, and instead focused on the somewhat abbreviated night of mayhem ahead.

I’m still recovering from the last few predominantly sleepless days, but I promised to share what I’d learned when I got back, so I’ll quickly address those, finish watching the Golden Globes, then go to bed.

1.) I really loathe loud, underage drunkards.  On the train into Grand Central, my friend the birthday girl and I found ourselves situated next to a pack of them.  These people were probably college sophomores on their way to their own drinking adventure in the city, and were each equipped with two Poland Springs bottles: one filled with orange juice, and the other filled with (probably cheap) vodka.  They sat no more than inches from each other, but screamed to be heard over each other anyway.  Their conversation consisted of how much information they (didn’t) memorise on their fake I.D.s, bumper stickers they’d sent each other on Facebook, and what they thought of each other when they’d first met (mostly, “I thought you were so cool,” and “I thought you were such a b****!”) . . . all at the top of their lungs.  Our ears bled for the entire hour.

2.) Ninety-nine-cent “Happy Birthday” tiaras are likely to attract perhaps undesired attention in borderline sketchy bars.  I really don’t think that this requires any elaboration.

Tonight’s Tunes
“Wait for You,” Nelly Furtado
“How Far We’ve Come,” Matchbox Twenty
“Gone Daddy Gone,” Gnarls Barkley
Time On Your Side,” Emily Jane White
“November,” Milk Inc.
“Eleanor,” Low Millions
“Postcards from Italy,” Beirut

Tonight’s Distraction
Golden Globe Awards

Leave a Reply

