I Forgot That I Like to Read

January 20, 2009 at 5:39 AM (Musings) (, , , , , )

. . . And that’s partially why I didn’t write today (the other part was that I was at work).  I’m currently reading two books: George R.R. Martin’s A Feast for Crows, and Jonathan Gould’s Can’t Buy Me Love.  I recommend the former to any  with an interest in medieval-set fantasies flavoured with battle and war-games, some wit, and once in a while, romance (but more often passionate brief encounters).  I recommend the latter to any with an interest in the Beatles.

A Feast for Crows is the fourth in an anticipated seven-book series titled A Song of Ice and Fire.  I began reading the first book, A Game of Thrones, after my freshman year of high school when one of my recently graduated friends whom I’d particularly idolised gave it to me as a gift.  By the end of the summer, I had completed the first book, along with A Storm of Swords and A Clash of Kings, and had gotten one of my friends interested in it.  By the time Martin had finished his fourth book, I was drowning in a college courseload.  I finally got my hands on it this Christmas, but I haven’t been able to zip through it as quickly or as riveted as I would like.  Prior to college, I’d frequently devote an entire day (or week, at most) to reading a book in its entirety.  Unfortunately, I don’t have that kind of time on my hands any more, so my literary excursions are restricted to my commutes.  In addition, it’s been over five years since I read the first three books.  These aren’t light reads, and the plots are incredibly complicated and interwoven, as each chapter is from one of several characters’ points of view.  In short, I’ve forgotten a lot of details, so as I slowly make my way through each chapter, I struggle to recall what happened in prior books in order to make sense of current situations.  I’ll have to re-read the first three books again.

I don’t usually read more than one book at a time, but Can’t Buy Me Love pushed Martin’s book aside because that book gets me one step closer to my diploma: it’s the required reading for my Beatles class.  Luckily it’s a speedy read, and I’m almost done with next week’s assigned reading – although I’m only on chapter 12 or so!  Jonathan Gould describes his book as being comprised of three threads: John, Paul, George and Ringo’s lives prior to their formation as the most influential entertainers in the history of rock ‘n roll, the music of the Beatles, and the culture surrounding the group in both Britain and America.  As mentioned, I’m not very far into the book, but I still find it fascinating.

In grade school, I was quite the book worm.  In fourth and fifth grade, I was actually disciplined not for passing notes in class or pulling pranks on the teacher, but for getting caught reading during the class.  Now, I barely have time to see a two-hour movie, let alone read a 976-page book (Thank you, Mr. Martin.).  Only this past month have I started getting back into leisurely reading, but I’ll be sure not to get out of the habit again.

Tonight’s Distractions
The dull roar of the Mass Pike at almost one o’clock in the morning

Leave a Reply

