Good Habits Are a Beast to Revive (But Well Worth It)

January 22, 2009 at 12:51 AM (Friends, Goals, Happenings) ()

FINALLY got my sorry posterior to the pool this morning with the little wanderer, and I don’t think we could be happier.  We’d talked about swimming together this semester, and both cringed when we realised that the only recreational swim slot we had in common was from 6.00 to 9.00 A. M., but we still promised each other we’d start going (after all, I had managed to swim at 7.00 A.M. last summer, and that was when I lived almost a mile from the pool; now it’s right next door).

Take #1 was a dismal failure, taking place last week.  Early in the week we discussed swimming that week, and that was as far as we got.  Let’s hear it for drive to succeed!

Take #2 was marginally more successful: we actually made firm plans on Sunday night to wake up at 7.30 and swim at 8.00.  My roommate went out for a culture event, and I stayed up late writing in my blog (guess which one of us is the cool one . . .).  On Monday morning, I dutifully got out of bed and knocked on the little wanderer’s door to see if she was up.  I think her response was in English, but I couldn’t be sure.  Meanwhile, my damn roommate was already up and about.  She too had woken up early to go to the gym, but found that it would be opening later due to MLK Day – she had tried to go at 7.00, only to find that the doors would not open until 8.00.  I suddenly became hopeful: perhaps the pool’s morning hours had been cut for the day.  I tried calling the gym’s front desk, but only heard an automated response.  I started to feel a little guilty: as much as I wanted to get back into a healthy habit, I was still incredibly lazy when it came to physically exerting myself before noon.  My damn roommate looked through a window: “It looks like the lights are on in the pool.”  I groaned as I looked for myself.  Sure enough, the lights were on in the pool area, and the water was rippling.  As I continued to stare, two swimmers in identical suits and caps came into view, flip turned, and disappeared as quickly as they’d appeared.  Then I decided that it must have been a team practise.  I knocked on the little wanderer’s door again to inform her of the situation, and before retreating to my own bed to get another hour of sleep, I suggested that we try again later that week, to which she mumbled in agreement.  She did not wake up until 11.00 that morning.

Take #3.  Yesterday we talked about trying to swim again, and agreed to target a 7.30 wake-up accompanied by intravenous caffeine doses (okay, not really, but we did have a BIG pot of coffee ready to go for this morning), and an 8.00 A.M. swim.  I went to bed before midnight, and I assume that the little wanderer followed suit shortly thereafter.  This morning, I bolted out of bed to make coffee as my phone alarm chirped at me with despicable cheer.  Like Monday, I shuffled over to my roommate’s door and knocked.   Her alarm was blaring louder than mine.  I knocked.

“Yeah?”

“Coffee’s on!”

“Oh thank God!  Yes!”

Within five minutes, we were pouring our life source into mugs and drinking up, and we puttered around the apartment waiting for the caffeine to kick.  By 8.35, we were on our way.   I felt fine in the locker room, which came as a mild surprise to me: usually I entered a pool area with a sense of dread, a mentality that screamed “Please don’t make me short of breath!”  I needn’t have worried myself, though.  That feeling hit as I stood two feet from the water’s edge as I prepared to dive.  I dipped my big toe into the water, knowing full-well that it wouldn’t help me prepare for the icy blast that awaited me once I submerged myself, but I was shocked to discover that either my toe had nothing but dead nerves, or that the water wasn’t as chilly as I’d expected.  There was only one way to find out.  I dove in.

Swimming felt just as fantastic as it had when I’d gotten back into it last summer (view that post here), only better because I actually had goggles.  The little wanderer and I laughed as we recalled what zombies we were not two hours earlier.  Fifteen minutes later, we were kicked out: recreational swim was over until noon.  I grinned at my roommate as I said, “Best workout of my life.”  She snickered as she agreed wholeheartedly.

It was a small success, but it was still a success, nonetheless.  Who knows?  Maybe on Friday we’ll manage to swim for a half an hour.

Today’s Tunes
“A Change Is Gonna Come,” Seal
“Puttin’ On the Ritz,” TACO
“Eleanor Rigby,” The Beatles
“Gunslinger (Runnin’ Out of Time),” Over It
“Boom!” System of a Down
“Say It Right,” Nelly Furtado
“(Don’t Fear) The Reaper,” Blue Öyster Cult
“Honey Pie,” The Beatles
“Black & Gold (Remix),” Sam Sparro
“Keep On Walking,” Jem
“This Cowboy Song,” Sting
“Smoke on the Water,” Machine Head
“Anon: Korobushka,” Bond
“Too Close for Comfort,” Michael Bublé

Leave a Reply

