Momma’s Sloppy Joes

January 23, 2009 at 7:07 PM (Happenings, Personal Reference) (, )

I did something crazy today: I tried a new recipe.  I don’t often attempt this, but I had more ground turkey than I knew what to do with, so I thought I’d give something fresh a shot.  I Googled ground turkey recipes, and found a sloppy Joe recipe that looked tasty, and more importantly, fairly simple.

I gave it a shot, and warned my three resident guinea pigs that I’d never made any sort of chili dish, but luckily they all seemed pretty unconcerned.  Even more luckily, lunch turned out to be delicious.  I’m not incompetent in a kitchen; I’m just fairly inexperienced.  Most things I put together make for a pretty decent meal.  The original recipe is available on allrecipes.com here, but I tweaked it a touch (and although the original recipes advertises six servings, the four of us consumed it in one sitting).  The differences are in italics below:

Ingredients
1lb. ground turkey
1 cup catsup
2 tbs yellow mustard
2 tbs white vinegar
1 tbs white sugar
arbitrary quantities of garlic powder, onion powder and black pepper

Directions
1. Brown turkey in a skillet over medium heat until evenly brown.  Drain.
2. Pour remaining ingredients into saucepan over medium heat.  Mix in turkey and cook for 30 minutes, stirring frequently (I don’t think I left the stove top for more than 45 seconds at a time).
3. Enjoy!

Today’s Tunes
“Hung Up + Shut Up (Saint Ken Mash),” Madonna vs. Black Eyed Peas
“Union,” Black Eyed Peas
“My Style,” Black Eyed Peas with Justin Timberlake
“My Humps,” Black Eyed Peas

Leave a Reply

