A Lucky Lass, Indeed

February 8, 2009 at 7:08 PM (Friends, Musings) (, )

I’m always reminding myself of how blessed I am to be surrounded by so many people who care about me and support me, and the recently renewed concern for my grandfather has only amplified that awareness.  I have two coaches who will provide me with advice, hugs and attentive ears over a beer at any hour of the night.  I have a studio full of friends who always ask me how I’m doing, and actually have an interest in hearing my honest answer.  Among those coaches and friends are people who have on countless occasions been willing to drive me home from the studio because I missed the last bus or train and couldn’t afford cab fare . . . even if it meant they would need to drive for another hour in the opposite direction before they got home.  I live with three people who not only tolerate my antics, but occasionally seem to welcome them.  They feed me, booze me, listen to me, sit with me, watch dumb TV shows with me, and generally spoil me as needed.  There are people who are hundreds of miles away (or in some cases, fewer than 10), who will drop everything to spend time with me on the phone (or in person) to get my mind off of whatever is eating me.  I have two parents and a brother who have done so much for me that I’d probably destroy the WordPress server if I tried to list it all.

I don’t know how many of you read this, but if you do, you probably know who you are.  Thank you.

Today’s Tunes
“Dramastically Different,” The Beastie Boys
“Think For Yourself,” The Beatles
“How Can I Keep From Singing?” Enya
“Fall For You,” Secondhand Serenade
“Breathe,” Kylie Minogue
“Blind,” Hercules and Love Affair
“London by Night,” Frank Sinatra

Leave a Reply

