Eastern Aftermath

February 24, 2009 at 9:40 PM (Dance, Goals, Happenings) (, , , , )

As you may recall, I had a competition this weekend.  For me, a competition typically entails a week of tanning, three (or more) weeks of stress, and months of practise.  This time I just opted for the week of tanning.

Okay, so maybe that wasn’t a premeditated decision.

Johnny and I decided to dance on Tuesday.  Our events were on Friday.  Frankly, I didn’t have time to stress, and you can imagine that we didn’t squeeze months of practise into three days.  Given the circumstances, though, I can’t complain too much about our results.  I won’t get into specifics, but I will say that I managed to bring a few blue ribbons home, and that my video from the event didn’t totally nauseate me.  The weekend was successful and fun, but that’s not to say that I’m satisfied with my dancing.  Nope, not by a long shot.  I’ll be competing with Johnny later this year (either Tri-State in March or Yankee in June), and percentages of blue ribbons I acquire aside, I have a lot to do before then.

Overall, Balera had a great weekend.  In Pro-Am, Russell’s students took first in Bronze Standard and Silver Rhythm, Vivian’s students took first in Silver Rhythm, and of course Johnny and I had sported some blue ribbons in the Silver Standard category.  In the amateur ranks, Balera occupied three fifths of the Open Rhythm final, earning second, third and fourth positions.

Today’s Tunes
“It’s a Man’s Man’s Man’s World,” Seal
“Shadows,” Blue Man Group
“Brown Derby Jump,” Cherry Poppin’ Daddies
“Cream,” Prince
“Politik,” Coldplay
“Can I Tico Tico You,” Lou Bega

Leave a Reply

