Just Say “No.”

February 25, 2009 at 6:04 AM (Happenings) (, )

I don’t think I’ve ever turned someone down so quickly and directly.  I was closing at work, a rare occurrence for me.  Working during the regular nine-to-five hours usually spares me the nuisance of dealing with large quantities of less choice customers, but last night I was out of luck.  Our 10.00 P.M. closing time was fast-approaching, and the only people who seemed to have any interest in buying coffee were a few lads who may still have been hungover (or stoned, or in some other residual, mind-altered state) from earlier in the day.  After making their coffee purchases, they all milled around the bar, waiting for their drinks.  Suddenly I, and the activity in which I was engaged (emptying out a closet), was fascinating to these gents.  One character took particular interest in my chore, and took a stab at conversation with me.  It was cute, really: he leaned on the bar for support, slurred his words a little, and couldn’t seem to keep his eyes focused on much of anything.  I politely responded to each of his statements (okay, so maybe I was a little snarky, but I doubt he’ll ever remember me), but was thankful when my manager pulled me away from the interaction to put me to work.

Upon emerging from the depths of the storage closet, my newest fan was still hanging out at the bar.

“I’m sorry, I didn’t mean to get you in trouble or anything.”

“Don’t worry about it.  It happens.”  I focused on relocating the supplies in my arms to their appropriate shelves.  He relocated from the bar to the shelves that were receiving the majority of my attention.

“You must be really cool to hang out with.  I’d like to do that with you some time.  Would that be at all possible?”

I paused, either to process if this guy was serious or to collect myself to avoid bursting out laughing, or perhaps both.  Sir, you can’t stand independently right now.  I didn’t think I’d have to include “sober” among my standards, but now I know.  I simply shut my eyes, and shook my head: “No.”

Nothing more.

“‘No’?”  He emitted something between a grunt and a laugh before he lumbered off with the rest of his pack.  I chuckled under my breath as I went back to supply-shifting.

My manager found me in the supply closet grabbing an armful of coffee cups.  “I’m sorry if I was harsh with you before.  I wanted to make sure that guy wasn’t bothering you.  Was he bothering you?”

I looked at her and grinned.  “Not any more.”

Tonight’s Distractions
The temperature.  Yes, inside.  It’s 62 degrees in here!!

2 Comments

  1. paul merrill said,

    manager comes to the rescue!

    • Incrys said,

      Not the first time, either. Bless her soul!

Leave a Reply

