A Brief Tribute to Fin’s

March 21, 2009 at 3:56 AM (Personal Reference) (, , , , )

If you like sushi, go to Fin’s, located in Boston’s Kenmore Square as well as Cleveland Circle.  I don’t care if you live out in Arizona.  Make a fieldtrip.

Okay, perhaps that’s a bit rash.  I’m no sushi connoisseur, and I’d hate to have one somehow manage to sue me for wasting his time and money after he decided that Fin’s isn’t that awesome.

Whatever, I think it is.

Fin’s opened in Kenmore this past summer, I think, and My Damn Roommate and I decided to meet there for a pre-semester meet-up back in August.  I immediately fell in love, and have been loyal ever since.

While out on Valentine’s Day, I decided to try something new: Fashion Maki, which contained avocado, cream cheese, tobiko . . . and grilled eel.

I was rewarded handsomely for my bravery.  As it turns out, I really, really like grilled eel.  So much that when I craved sushi tonight, I sidelined my default (Philadelphia Maki: smoked salmon, cream cheese, cucumber and scallions) in favour of the Fashion Maki.  While I waited for the delivery man of my dreams, I prayed that eel was as delicious as I recalled.

I was in luck.  It was even better than last time (perhaps because I was eagerly anticipating, but who knows?).

I encourage you all to try eating something new.  Perhaps not eel (even I was weirded out at the idea, initially), but if that’s the route you decide to take, I’d highly recommend Fin’s.

Some other things I’ve noted about Fin’s:

The woman who answered the phone was incredibly polite and clear in her speech (I am used to having to decipher through heavy accents and tolerate the rude rush at the other end of the line).

Even though the woman told me I had a 45-minute wait, I’m pretty sure my dinner arrived in a little over 20 minutes, but I may just have been lucky today.

Every time I’ve gone into Fin’s to sit down and eat dinner, the service has never been less than friendly and courteous.

The dishes are pretty affordable for those on the college budget!

I’ve yet to try a sushi roll I haven’t enjoyed, but I will admit that the grilled salmon roll was a little bland.

That was my third post tonight.  I’m going to bed.

Tonight’s Tunes
“Julia,” The Beatles
“Love For Sale,” De-Lovely
“Time On Your Side,” Emily Jane White
“Don’t Believe In Love,” Dido
“Heartstrings,” Secret Garden

Leave a Reply

