Just Keep Swimming, Just Keep Swimming

April 6, 2009 at 1:42 PM (Friends, Goals, Happenings) (, )

Okay, I’ve already blogged about swimming. It’s not interesting for you anymore. I get it. Guess what?  Tough noogies.

I’m glad that my friend Christen is so eager to swim in the mornings, because if not, I don’t think I’d be able to drag myself out of bed before 7.00 to physically exert myself.  I’m too good of a person to stand someone else up though, particularly at that hour, so we’ve been pretty successful at making good on our morning plans thus far.

Today was a new accomplishment: I managed to complete a 100-IM (Individual Medley: 1 lap butterfly, 1 lap backstroke, 1 lap breaststroke, 1 lap freestyle).  Granted, the lifeguard and anyone else watching probably had a good laugh, and I am thankful that I wasn’t swimming for time, but, gee-whiz, I still did it!  What made it even more impressive for me was that 1.) it was at the end of our morning swim session, and 2.) I was not an IMer when I swam competitively.  My breaststroke and backstroke are terribly weak, and I only began to swim butterfly in the 200-medley relay in my last year of competitive swimming.  The fact that my out-of-swim-shape carcass managed to flail through a 100-IM was enough to put me in a good mood for the day.

Another success for me today was getting through a solid 25-yard butterfly before my mini-IM.  For the first time in months, that one lap of what I consider to be one of the trickier strokes actually felt good.  And I only had to breathe twice.

Swim Goals
1. Get through 50-fly.  Short-term
2. Swim more, break less.  Short-term
3. Make mini(100)-IM effortless.  Mid-term
4. Increase 50-fly to 100-fly. Mid-term
5. Survive 200-IM.  Long-term
6. Reintroduce 500-free to repertoire.  Long-term

I still have a long way to go before I ever come close to the shape I’d achieved back in the day (and since I have no interest in swimming competitively ever again, I may never get there), but I’m making progress.  Slowly.  But still making progress.  I just have to remind myself of the words of a swimmer who I consider to be quite wise:

“Just keep swimming, just keep swimming, just keep swimming, swimming, swimming – what do we do?  We swim, swim . . . ”

Today’s Tune
“Delicate,” Damien Rice
“The Blower’s Daughter,” Damien Rice
“Cannonball,” Damien Rice
“Older Chests,” Damien Rice
“Amie,” Damien Rice
“Cheers Darlin’,” Damien Rice

Leave a Reply

