Checking Out Boston Gigs: Eclipse (Boston College)

April 19, 2009 at 5:22 AM (Happenings, Musings) (, , , , )

Unfortunately I can’t say too much about Eclipse‘s Boston College show tonight: I arrived so late that I only caught the last four songs (one of which was “Free Bird” –  really guys?  – slightly hysterical, and well played), and I was bummed to see that it was scarcely attended.  I partially blame BC for having low-quality music fans – Nez told me that the group had made announcements earlier in the evening in some of BC’s dining halls to promote free Pink Floyd music – but at the same time, it’s marathon weekend in Beantown, and we had a Sox game, and a Celtics game.  People were busy tonight.

The music was great, as usual, but the sound was off at points.  Evidently booking a room at BC doesn’t include a tech guy.  One thing I do want to note is that the group is incredibly grateful for its supporters.  After the show, not only did the group members I already knew graciously thank me (and everyone else, individually) for attending, but also a couple members I didn’t know so well.  The music never fails, and my attendance is valued (or so I’m convinced, at least): assuming I’m in Boston at the time, my next RSVP is a no-brainer.

Leave a Reply

