Considering a Return to the Dance Floor

June 23, 2009 at 11:30 PM (Dance, Happenings, Musings) (, , )

This weekend, I managed to escape my part-time job briefly to catch some of my friends compete at the Yankee Classic, held at the Boston Marriott Cambridge.  As some of you may recall, I used to enjoy competing myself not too long ago, but I had to take an indefinite hiatus from dancing in order to focus on more pressing matters . . . such as as graduating.  Obviously I would have loved to have stuck with the dancing, but I’ve been surviving well enough without it.  While I was excited about seeing my friends dance again, once I arrived at the competition, I was reminded of all the things I didn’t miss: fake tanning, expensive entry fees, pre-comp stress, hordes of ill-behaved children, and other less delightful aspects.  For most of Friday night, I was firmly convinced that I would never get into competitive dancing again.  Yes, I miss dancing, and I’ve been making more appearances at social venues, such as Ryles Jazz Club, Balera School of Ballroom Dance (my fantastic dance studio), and, once this rain lets up, Spice Bokx at Hotel Indigo on Monday nights.  I really haven’t been experiencing any competition longings.

That is, until late Friday night, or perhaps on Saturday night.  Seeing all of my friends celebrating their competitive and performance victories left me feeling slightly left out, and many of my acquaintances from the dance realm asked me when I would be returning to the competition circle.  I wasn’t planning on it, but I do miss wearing those pretty dresses . . .

So, here it goes: gentlemen, if you are a Standard dancer over 5’7″, and would be interested in practising and maybe competing Amateur, shoot me a message.

I’m not expecting anything any time soon, but I’ll keep you all posted.

Tonight’s Tunes
“Love of My Life,” Santana Feat. Dave Matthews
“Don’t You (Forget About Me),” Simple Minds
“Lady (Club Mix),” Modjo
“Say It Right,” Nelly Furtado
“Lebanese Blonde,” Thievery Corporation

Leave a Reply

