Pressed Sandwiches at Government Center

July 2, 2009 at 2:26 AM (Happenings) (, , , , , , )

One of the many delightful aspects of my internship is its location in Government Center, which features history, scenery, tourists, shopping, and of course, good eats.  Er, at least one good eat: I visited Pressed Sandwiches on Oliver St. after my interview with 451 Marketing and I haven’t ventured elsewhere yet.

Pressed boasts delicious, healthy paninis made with fresh ingredients – most notably, their artichokes.  While I’m no artichoke fanatic, I’ve got to admit: those sandwiches are pretty darned amazing.  My goal is to eventually try each menu option at least once, which is only encouraged by my possession of another tally card: purchase 10 salads or sandwiches and the next purchase is free (another score for the poor starving college grad!).  I’ve made decent progress, but the going is slow since I’m only around for lunch at 451 once or twice a week.  Below are some of the small delights of Pressed that I’ve sampled, and what I’ve thought.

Cuban – marinated pork, ham, Swiss cheese, pickles, chipotle mayo, slaw, on ciabatta. As far as I’ve encountered, the perfect Cuban. I really can’t handle overly spicy foods, and I’m wary of chipotle after more than a couple unpleasant encounters.  Pickles in mass quantities aren’t really my deal either, and by now you’re probably wondering, “Geez, why’d she bother ordering it!?” Because I’m a wild and crazy risk-taker, that’s why.  As you may have guessed, the payoff was worth it: the Cuban is just zingy enough, and the pickles are sliced nearly paper-thin, offering a subtle suggestion of flavour. It was my wonderous gateway sandwich.

Italian Chickenmarinated grilled chicken, fresh mozzarella, oregano, roasted red peppers, on ciabatta. As far as Italian chicken sandwiches go, not bad at all.  Perhaps a bit much mozzarella, though.

Chicken Pesto – marinated grilled chicken, fontina, roasted artichokes, pesto, on parmesan focaccia. Pretty flippin’ delicious.  No complaints about this one.

There’s more, but it’s late and I have a job interview in the morning.  Wish me luck, and to be continued!

Tonight’s Tunes
The Mating Game, Bitter:Sweet
“The Mating Game (Blackjoy Remix),” Bitter:Sweet

Tonight’s Distraction
Empire Records

1 Comment

  1. Radio Focus said,

    ohh…that loks very yami!

Leave a Reply

