A Social Experiment, Continued

December 2, 2009 at 2:31 AM (Happenings, Musings) (, )

Unfortunately, PlentyOfFish deletes all messages 14 days’ old, so my favourites don’t exist any more.  In the future, I’ll have to copy and paste the good ones into a continuous Word document.  I still have a few tidbits that I managed to save, though.

The site certainly doesn’t lie: there are plenty of fish indeed, and almost as many kinds.  There are the ones who just out for one thing (and it likely doesn’t involve any follow-up phone calls).  There are the ones who probably aren’t bad people, but are incapable of stringing together a coherent question (or are simply too lazy).  There are the [much] older ones who think they still have the charm from their 20s.  There are the ones who are still in their 20s and have let their charm turn into arrogance.  There are the ones who try too hard to be funny.  There are the ones who are probably hysterical, but are way too nervous to show it.  And then there are the ones who are simply too shy to send a message.

Brittany FalconerAnd then there’s me.

I’ve received messages of all kinds, ranging from “how are you” to “i cannot stop appreciating your beauty.”  I copied and pasted both of those.  At least four people have assumed that my sporting a pirate hat means that I am defenseless against pirate jokes (note: I’m not).  I’ve been referred to as an “older woman” by a 20-year-old.  I’ve learned what it’s like to read a poorly written college essay.  I’ve received a note that looked very similar to one my roommate received.  Scratch that – we alternated reciting it from our own inboxes.

Now, that’s not to say that any of these people are losers (okay, maybe some of them are), or that I’m way too cool for anyone on this site.  Au contraire.  Some people have messaged me that have merited responses, and I would even go so far as to say that conversations may have budded.  I will even admit that I have messaged some people, and – gasp – they never got back to me.  And perhaps most shocking of all . . . I’ve actually met a fish or two (and I wasn’t kidnapped!).

The title of this and the last post is “A Social Experiment,” but if I remember my grade school science classes at all, the scientific method requires an educated guess as to what the outcome will be before experimenting.  Admittedly, I never really went that far with my planning process.  In fact, I don’t think planning actually crossed my mind when I created the account in the first place, but I don’t consider it a disadvantage: I’m not constrained by what I think is allowed or is not allowed to happen with this . . . online dating thing.

Wish me luck.  Or a cool experience worth blogging about later.

Tonight’s Tunes
“Scenes From An Italian Restaurant,” Billy Joel
“Stairway to Heaven,” Led Zeppelin
“Love Song,” Sara Bareilles
“White Daisy Passing,” Rocky Votolato
“Dreaming of You,” The Coral
“Romeo and Juliet,” Dire Straits

Leave a Reply

