Riding the Megabus: Boston – New York

December 12, 2009 at 12:50 AM (Happenings) (, , )

There’s a first time for everything.  Like blogging from a moving vehicle, for instance.  A good friend of mine is celebrating her birthday in New York this weekend, and seeing as I no longer suffer from the restraints of end-of-semester deadlines, I’m actually able to take a couple days off to stop in.  Because ‘Son goes into the city just about every weekend, I was fine with him making the travel arrangements: just tell me which station and what time, and I’ll see you there, man.  I truly could not have been less interested in the bus line.

MegabusNow I’m three and a half hours into a trip to the Big Apple via Megabus, and I’m still shouting senselessly into the Twittersphere.  Win!  For the last few months, I’ve been hearing about various airlines, buslines and trains including free Wi-Fi, but I haven’t had the opportunity to take advantage of this convenience.  I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t at least a little excited to try it out.

So far, I haven’t been disappointed with the Wi-Fi.  For tweeting, blogging, and general web-surfing, I haven’t encountered any hiccups.  My travel companions did try downloading a song earlier, and based on how long they were whining about it, I’m guessing it took a while.  In addition, I did try uploading some photos to Facebook and it took several minutes to add fewer than 20 images.  Granted, I was in no rush, so it didn’t bother me, but I figured it would be worth sharing.  YouTube is blocked, most likely for bandwidth issues.  Interestingly enough, Megasbus’s site is down, but I’m guessing that’s a coincidence.

The ride itself has been nothing legendary: occasional unexpected stops and turbulence, turns and straightaways that can be expected of highway driving.  The only part I will remember two weeks from now is how cold my feet are.  Oh, and that I wrote this blog post.

Leave a Reply

