Blogs from the Oasis: Day 3 – At Sea

March 8, 2010 at 8:45 AM (Happenings, Musings) (, , , , , , , )

Lesson #2: “In Soviet Russia, waves ride you.”  Oh.  My.  God.  I cannot begin to explain the aches and pains I am experiencing after last night’s FlowRider lesson, but once I get the multimedia evidence, I can try to show you.  The FlowRider is one of the many experiences of Oasis.  It is a continuous wave that allows participants to surf or boogie board.  If they know what they’re doing, I guess.

Along with my general discomfort, I have bruises up and down my legs, covering my elbow, and scattered across my toes.  Folks, my toes are too small for bruises.  I did have a lot of fun, though.  Dad and bro gave it a shot and held their own pretty well while Mom caught everything on camera (in HD, I later learned).  Your trusty blogger took the most abuse though because she was determined to learn every boogie board trick the Oasis sports staffers had to offer.  I shall look upon my injuries as medals of achievement.

Central Park Oasis of the seas Royal CaribbeanThis morning I’m enjoying a Starbucks iced latte and a couple raspberry danishes (and licking my wounds) in Central Park.  Yep, remember those neighborhoods I was telling you about?  The only difference between this Central Park and the Big Apple counterpart is that there’s no loose rubbish.  Or drug-dealers.  Or crazies (but that may change once the bars open).

I won’t hesitate to remind you that Oasis is a gargantuan monster.  I think it can carry over 5,000 guests.  Not being a huge fan of crowds, the ship’s size is  a double-edged sword for me.  While there is a ton of stuff to do, most options include lots and lots of other people trying to do the same thing.  Sitting here a little after 9.00 A.M. seems to do the trick, though.  I’ve probably seen fewer than 200 people since leaving my cabin this morning.  It’s almost as if I’ve found a way to take a small vacation from this vacation.

Tomorrow we dock at St. Thomas in the U.S. Virgin Islands.  Today is another lazy day at sea.  I may attend a wine tasting, a Michael Jackson dance class or a diamond and gemstone seminar.  I may check out a fountain show.  I may show my face at the gym again, or even better, at the FlowRider for additional smack-down.  Nothing is set in stone for me.   All I know is that whatever I do, it’s going to be a heluva time.

Leave a Reply

