Blogs from the Oasis: Day 6 – At Sea

March 11, 2010 at 10:30 AM (Happenings, Musings) (, , , , , )

Lesson #5: Dehydration aside, St. Maarten is awesome.  Yesterday was going pretty well until about 12.30 when my brain decided to swell to twice its intended size (see previous post).  From then until about 10.00 this morning, basic human function was a no-go.  Even now I admit I’m still not 100% with it.  Why, just now I tried to take a sip of my iced latte without removing the straw wrapper first.  For those of you who have wondered, yes: it’s gross.

Mom and I did have a great time in St. Maarten, though.  Dad and bro went on an excursion exploring the French side of the island while we opted to do some serious window shopping on the Dutch side.  Mom treated herself to a couple of well deserved accessories, but try as I might, I could not convince her to drop $140 on a set of bedsheets made out of bamboo (you’re only judging right now if you’ve never experienced bamboo).

royal caribbean promenade Today is our last day at sea.  For the first time all week I haven’t been chomping at the bit to do something worth writing home about.  Instead I’ve been content to lounge in the Royal Promenade, sip my straw-wrapper-free latte, people-watch, chat with this lovely crew from Virginia about Starbucks and my unStarbucks job-hunt, and blog with my pencil.  My final spills on the FlowRider will likely have to wait until tomorrow before we dock in Nassau, but maybe I’ll turn up at an improv class after enjoying some wine and tapas with the parentals.

Tonight, guests will be enjoying a formal dinner.  Tomorrow morning at the ungodly hour of 8.00 I have a spa appointment, and at 10.50 I’ll be taking a ride on the zipline.  We’ll dock in Nassau in the early afternoon, and I’ll sprint to the resident Starbucks and Tortuga, home of the best rum cake ever (next to the Little Wanderer’s homemade variety, of course).  After that everyone will be scrambling to pack up before we dock in Ft. Lauderdale for the last time to head back to our lives in the real world.

Funny as it may seem, I’m looking forward to it.  I definitely needed the R & R, but back home, there are friends to see, dances to learn, and jobs to be found (yes, I do miss life in the PR realm).  It’ll be good to be back in Beantown, but while I’m stuck on Oasis, by Joe, I’m going to enjoy it.

Leave a Reply

