“Quick Ragù Bolognese:” Perhaps Not So Quick

June 2, 2010 at 3:55 PM (Happenings) (, , )

I was going through my freezer in search of meals for the upcoming week when I unearthed a pound and a half of ground beef.  While I have yet to cook a bad dish, I’m no culinary mistress and couldn’t think of any use for the meat outside of meatloaf (ew), burritos (meh) and hamburgers (just didn’t feel like it).  At the recommendation of a friend who is a culinary master, I directed my browser to Epicurious.com, a recipe site that allows you to search for recipes based on ingredients and/or various categories . . . such as “Quick and Easy.”  Bing-0.

Search: ground beef + quick and easy.  Dumplings . . . meatloaf . . . burgers . . . taco salad . . . meatloaf . . . meatloaf . . . burgers . . . burgers . . . burgers . . . meatloaf . . .  This subtle pattern continued for a couple pages until I stumbled upon “Quick Ragù Bolognese.”

This seemed perfect.  Unfortunately, however, I was under the impression that “quick and easy” constituted “30 minutes or fewer.”  Such was not the case, and it took me about an hour to get dinner started and finished.  On the other hand, it was my first time on the recipe, and it wasn’t bad (but I do have some additions in mind for next time).  Moral of story: allow more time.

Today’s Tunes
103.3 WODS-FM

Leave a Reply

