New Desserts at Atlantic Fish Co.

September 7, 2010 at 2:42 AM (Food) (, , , )

Last week I was faced with the torture of sampling four of the new desserts that Atlantic Fish Co. has added to its menu.  I know, my life is so wrought with tribulation; I can sense your preemptive pity as I draft this post.  Seeing as they were all pretty delicious, I thought I’d share so you’ll know why you should save room for dessert when you go.

The brownie sundae. Your typical decadence dish features two large brownie slices sandwiching a couple scoops of vanilla ice cream, a dollop of whipped cream and a sprinkling of chopped walnuts.  Top that with a drizzle of hot fudge and caramel, and it’s no wonder the gentleman sitting next to me observed, “I’ve seen people spend thousands of dollars trying to buy happiness: it would seem you have accomplished that for $9.00.

The warm chocolate and macadamia nut cookies. While tasty, I wouldn’t make a special trip to Atlantic for these.  That said, the two cookies (one chocolate chip, one macadamia) are freshly baked and arrive with a dose of chocolate sauce and are great for the less adventuresome eater post-dinner.

The New York cheesecake. Served with banana foster skirting the plate, the one word I can use to describe this dish is “rich.”  The second word I can use is “ridiculously.”  I’m not a huge fan of super-heavy desserts, so this one wasn’t my favourite, but it’s definitely made right, and another gentleman who ordered was clearly in a state of culinary bliss after his first bite.

The seasonal fruit crisp. Oh.  Em.  Gee (That’s “OMG,” or “Oh My God,” for you folks who a) don’t really follow my thought process or b) don’t use the Internets very much – in either case, why are you here??).  This saintly crumble was perfect on a late August evening, featuring mangoes, blueberries, probably some sugar, and a torched top.  Unfortunately my culinary prep vocab is incredibly stunted, so I’m not sure how exactly it’s prepared, but I’ll get back to you on the details.  Suffice to say for now that it’s freakin’ incredible.

Salivating yet?  Get thee to Atlantic Fish Co.!

Leave a comment