Pumpkins and Oktoberfest Beers: Shock Top Pumpkin Wheat

September 3, 2012 at 5:41 PM (Beer) (, , , , )

beerBeer: Pumpkin Wheat
Brewery: Shock Top
Style: Pumpkin Ale
ABV: 5.2%
Where I Got It: Paddy O’s, Boston
What I Thought of It: Not all pumpkin beers have to fill you up after one serving. As a wheat beer, Pumpkin Wheat was a nice choice on a somewhat toasty day in late August. Light and refreshing, but still sated the pumpkin craving. Added bonus: it’s served with a dusting of cinnamon and sugar! Unfortunately as the head dissolved, the garnish sank to the bottom of the glass (stick to the edge of the glass, kids), but I’m still counting it as a win. Generally I prefer the darker brews, but for a wheat (and an Anheuser Busch at that), I’d consider ordering it again if it’s 90 degrees outside.

Leave a comment